Cramp!

Today was about as hot as yesterday. So hot that rather than firing up the barbecue again or tuning on the oven, we opted for cold leftovers and peanut butter and jelly sandwiches. Living the high life, I tell you.

The heat yesterday must really have fried my brain, because tonight, in the middle of a heat wave, I thought it would be a good idea to play tennis. I even managed to find a friend who wasn’t smart enough to turn me down for a match. My punishment for this stupidity was that I pulled both quads in the first game. That’s what I get for not bothering to stretch first. I still played through three sets (1-6, 6-2, 4-6, really not bad all things considered), but I couldn’t run so I was giving up a lot of points because I was in too much pain to chase down a ball that was within reasonable reach. It was pretty pathetic. Hopefully a hot shower, some ibuprofen, and rest will stop me from walking like I’m in a pair of leg casts tomorrow.

Tomorrow is the last day of school for my kids, and it’s only a half day. We get to go see my youngest’s graduation ceremony. It’s kindergarten, so the ceremony consists of us sitting in too-small chairs for an hour or so while the kids sing at us, but it’s cute and it beats working all morning. My wife will probably take the kids to the local pool for the afternoon while I get a bit of work done, then we might go see Brave afterwards. I’ve been looking forward to this one, I hope it’s as good as it looks.

Leave a Reply

