Summer?

Technically it’s still spring, but what to those people know…

I know it’s summer because my weekends are packed much more solidly than they are in the winter. Summer means time spent pushing a lawnmower back and forth across my yard (all told, about two hours including the edge trimmer). Soccer season has started as well, so my sons will each have a one hour game, plus travel time. Add on more outdoor chores and the usual indoor ones and that leaves a whole lot less time for R&R.

I cleaned out my barbecue today. The heat plates had rusted to almost nothing and needed to be replaced. The burner tubes seem fine (no rust at all, so I’m guessing they were stainless steel), and all the igniters work, but the flames still occasionally sputters and fade out, so I may also have a problem with the gas line between the tank and the burners. Whatever, it worked well enough tonight to cook the mother’s day kebabs.

Speaking of mother’s day, it got off to a bit of a rocky start. We were woken up at 2:30 this morning by my oldest son speeding to the bathroom to vomit. He did it again at 4:30, and after he woke up for good (probably around 6:00), he did it again twice but couldn’t make it to the bathroom in time. And he didn’t tell us because he didn’t want to wake us, so it was still there, cold and nasty when I woke up. At least nobody stepped in it.

Leave a Reply

