Mostly Done

I sorta kinda finished a short story today. In other words, I wrote through to the end but did so while taking a lot of notes about things that absolutely need to be fleshed out or added in later. Total weight – roughly 10,500 words. After I spend tomorrow adding in the needed bits? Probably an extra 1,000-1,500. Not at bad as I expected despite it’s unfinished state, not as short as I’d like, and I still have no idea what to do with the thing after the rough draft. My first impression was that this was a short story waiting to be told, but that might be because I find short fiction to be my natural length. I have a feeling that my second draft of this will add maybe 15-20%, and that’s after a pass to trim off the fat. The length is going to be a problem if I ever expect to do anything with it more than laugh at it.

I mentioned yesterday that we were going to a late Easter egg hunt, and it went better than expected. The 1pm start time worried me, but it was cool and cloudy and so my kids were not picking up semi-solid squishy bits of chocolate. This makes me happy, as the person who has to make sure they’re mostly clean.

On the writing front, I seem to have momentum on my side. I’m finding it easier to make quota, and that means I can write what I need to write and still have time for other things. Today those other things included the trip for the egg hunt, watching most of Captain America with my son, and heading out tonight for some board games. I don’t know why the words are coming quicker than normal, but I’m not going to argue. I just hope it lasts.

Leave a Reply

