Names Suck

I had a bit of a hectic day, home- and work-wise, and so didn’t have an opportunity to get very much writing done before my usual writing time of after-the-kids-are-in-bed o’clock. Still, I’ve been doing well enough up until now in April that even with a bit of a slow day today I’m ahead of pace. I’ll also admit that I got sidetracked doing a spot of research tonight, all for that short story I mentioned recently. I spent a bit of time re-familiarizing myself with Newton’s Laws of Motion (Yes, it was important), but the worst was researching names.

Names in short stories are the bane of my existence. I try to adhere to a few rules. I try not to name characters after people I know. I try not to give characters overly common or overly rare names. I try not to give characters names which are only clever if you’re a child (Like OMG! There’s this guy in my story, and he’s, like, totally the one who brings all these other characters together, and his name’s Bridge. Get it? Get it?!? Yeah, I get it. We all get it. You have the creativity of a box of peanut shells). I’m breaking a few of those rules in this story, mainly because breaking those rules will, for once, actually add to the flavour of the story, and since this is the sort of story which runs in the opposite direction of taking itself seriously, I think it will work. Time, and some beta readers, will tell.

So, I was doing research, and more research, and I got sidetracked in the brain vacuum that is Wikipedia, but I think the story is just about ready to start. The only thing missing is a name for the superhero, which is proving difficult. Not only do I have to come up with a relevant name, but I have to avoid any name that’s already been used in the 80 year history of giving superheroes stupid names.

Tomorrow, name or no name, I start. I know what he can and can’t do, so the hero name is pissing me off, but it’s not enough to prevent me from getting this one done.

Leave a Reply

