Ridiculousness

I spent a part of my writing time today brainstorming and outlining a new short story. It’s based on a writing prompt provided to me a while ago by my friend, Pat, and it seemed like exactly the sort of goofy thing I needed to write to get out of my writing funk – something fun, fresh, and very different.

The problem was, I didn’t feel like writing it at the time. The basic idea was interesting and I thought it had potential, but I just couldn’t feel it coming together into something coherent and I have a hard time writing anything if I feel that is has a lot of loose ends (or, sometimes, even a single loose end), so I put it aside, waiting for inspiration but going back to look at it every day in the hopes that it would click. Since it’s got to do with superheroes, that inspiration came this month while writing my graphic novel script for Script Frenzy. Not in the story aspect of it, but in the nuts and bolts of the elements that make up a comic script. What I have now, for an outline, is possibly the single most ridiculous concept I’ve ever wanted to write about, and yet I can’t remember the last time I wanted to drop everything else and write a single thing so badly. Why does this have to happen when I’m in the middle of trying to bang out a six-issue comic book story arc in a month?

It doesn’t matter. One way or another, I’m going to find the time over the next few days to get this story written because I have a feeling that it’s going to be awesome, even if that means that I’m the only one who thinks it’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

