Poker Night

I didn’t win any big jackpots, but I’m still going to call it a success. Out of three games, I finished second in the first (out of eight players), last in the second (boo!), and fourth in the third. No great victories, but a lot of fun. There was, as there always is when people do something interesting, a chorus of people calling for more of the same at regular intervals, we’ll see where it all goes. I wouldn’t mind playing every once in a while.

It’s hard to compare with my usual table gaming, being strategy board games, since it’s a very different playing experience, but it’s not a bad way to spend a night. Mind you, I suppose there’s not a lot of bad ways to spend a night hanging out indoors with friends, but still. Some strategy, a lot of luck… it’s strange to play a game where you have so little control over the overall outcome.

I only wish tomorrow wasn’t a Friday, meaning a get-up-early-and-get-the-kids-to-school day, but that’s the way it is. The weekend’s not far, I’ll be able to catch up on sleep then.

Leave a Reply

