10 Days?

Holy crap, when did it get to be Spring? Spring means we’re two-thirds of the way through March, which means that there are ten days left in the month for me to prepare for…

Script Frenzy! One month, 100 pages of script, piece of cake. Really, I’m not worried at all, though I wish I was further along in my plotting. At this point, I have the general idea (the same one I attempted last year), and a solid grasp of what I want to take out of it, and what I feel needs to go in. What I don’t have is a lot of the details, but that part will involve a lot of staring at a blank page, writing down ideas, fleshing them out, realizing that they’re horrible ideas, and starting again. Ten days. No pressure

Last year I really went by the seat of my pants, and stopped when I hit my 100 pages. This year, I hope to be able to throw down a complete six-issue story arc of a graphic novel series. It’s doable with a solid focus, but it’ll probably end up clocking in at around 200 pages. This may not seem like a lot for some people, but for me it’s a pretty intimidating number. I’ll need to get started bright and early on the first day, and probably keep going until dark and late on day thirty.

I’m curious to see how big the community is this year. Last April, there were only maybe two dozen people in Montreal trying the same thing. The forums were quiet (completely dead by about the fifteenth), and there was not one single meet-up. I expect a lot of the faces will be the same ones who try NaNoWriMo in November, but it’s be nice to see what they’ve been up to over the last four months, and if there are fresh faces, that’ll be a bonus.

I have other things I want to finish tonight, so the outlining starts in earnest tomorrow. This is fairly last minute, but it’s an improvement over last year when I hit April 1st with no idea of what I wanted to do.

One response to “10 Days?

Leave a Reply

