Countdown

We’re getting closer to starting that Dungeons and Dragons game I was talking about a little while ago. Half of my players came over tonight to do character creation, and the other half will be doing it via email, and game starts in two weeks. Considering how long I’ve been tossing around ideas for this one, it’s strange to see it so close to a real start.

As I mentioned before, I haven’t run a campaign in ages, probably going back to the 1990s, and the game-creating muscles are a little bit rusty. It got more and more obvious as the night wore on that I have a lot of reading ahead of me, because players are asking questions on what I will permit or not for their characters, and I’m so unfamiliar with the base rules that I’m having problems answering. So, I’m setting aside the next few evenings to bring myself back up to speed so that I won’t have to scavenge for rules mid-game, because nothing kills the flow of a gaming session like having the person running it not know what the hell they’re doing. Hopefully there’s some sort of muscle-memory in there.

Where I have been focusing my efforts lately is on the worldbuilding and plot building, because those are things I can completely control, and those things are largely independent of the rules set. I’d been detailing some things and leaving a few ends loose so that I could make adjustments after I knew what the characters were going to be like. It’s always nice to tailor a few things specifically to exploit the powers or weaknesses of one character, and I’m dealing with a competent group of players so I know they’ll be able to handle anything I throw at them.

All in all, I’m really looking forward to running this game. something fun, and recurring, with a good bunch of friends. I just hope it’ll be as interesting as it sounds in my head.

2 responses to “Countdown

Leave a Reply

