Dreams

I had a very strange wake-up call this morning. Normally I don’t remember my dreams (seriously, if I remember one more often than every year or two it’s special), but when I do it’s usually because I woke up in the middle of one, and it’s only there for a few strange seconds before it’s lost.

This morning I woke up to my wife shaking me.

She told me to get up, feed the kids, and get them off to school, which I thought was a funny thing to ask because I’d just finished giving the kids breakfast and sending them off to the bus, and had just gone back to bed for a half hour afterwards as is my habit.

Or had I?

Nope, it was still 45 minutes until bus time. What happened was that I’d had a very vivid dream of waking up, feeding the kids, and sending them off to school (I remembered giving them strawberries and waffles). This, apparently, was the dream my mind chose to give me a break from my routine of waking up, feeding the kids, and sending them off to school.

Looks like I’m living the dream after all.

So, I’d decided I was going to make an effort to go to bed before midnight tonight in an effort to be less tired and confused in the morning, but it looks like I’ve just missed the mark. I will be going to bed right after this post goes up, so it’s not too horribly late…

Leave a Reply

