Time Shift

Ever have one of those weekends where you blink and it’s gone? It’s especially bad in my case because I was off work last Thursday and Friday so I had a four-day weekend and it still seemed to go by too quickly.

For accomplishments, we made a boatload of progress in cleaning out the office. It’s crazy the amount of stuff you toss into boxes and shelves to be dealt with at some obscure future date, and it’s amazing how little of that stuff you actually need. So far, not including garbage, we’ve filled our recycling bin twice, and I’m talking about the big one on wheels that goes by the curb and the city sends a truck to pick up, I think it’s 60 gallons, though I don’t usually measure paper in gallons but whatever. Ancient stuff and useless stuff and stuff kept around for reasons we can’t remember, but a lot of it is gone now. And surprise, surprise, we actually have a lot more space. Funny how that works. It’s not done, but it’s getting there, and it’s a hell of a good start. I’ll be off in two weeks for March break, I’ll go through the rest of my share then.

In the meantime, back to work, and back to an attempt to catch up on writing because I’ve done nothing but keep falling behind lately. Actually, that’s not true. I’ve fallen further behind but I have written. I even stabbed a main character in the back yesterday. I’m not ashamed to say that it felt damned good, and I have another POV character left to finish the book, so maybe I’ll leave this one dead, but I have a feeling that there might be a very super-hero-like comeback under strange circumstances. On the plus side, if I bring this one back, I get to kill them a second time! It’s like being a serial killer, only different.

Leave a Reply

