The Furniture Shuffle

As planned, the whole family went to see an early showing of Star Wars – The Phantom Menace tonight, in 3D. It’s one of my least favourite of the six episodes so far, and the passage of time and the addition of 3D didn’t help it very much. Thankfully, the 3D was unobtrusive for the most part – no strange effects were added just to jump out of the screen, but for the most part I didn’t notice the 3D was there at all, but I stopped short of wondering “why bother?” because, ya know, money. As expected, I didn’t find that it gave the film much more depth, and it didn’t give me any more enjoyment than I had when I first saw it in theater all those years ago, but my kids loved it. My oldest is a little bit Star Wars obsessed and this was his first chance to see one of them on the big screen, so he was very happy.

Other than that, Valentine’s Day was pretty toned down. After the movie, and after the kids were in bed, my wife and I spent the rest of the evening rearranging furniture and things in the office to make a separate play area for the kids where it wouldn’t be immediately visible from the office door. Also, it gave us an opportunity to actually go through the stuff in various piles so we could get rid of a lot of it. It’s amazing how much stuff accumulates when you can put it in a box and ignore it for a few years.

The cat has no idea what to think of the new furniture layout. He’s walking around in circles, climbing on everything, walking through empty ground-level shelves and generally being a nuisance. I expect he’ll calm down once everything’s in its final place.

Leave a Reply

