Flash

I headed out to a gathering of a group of local writers tonight which fell a little flat. The coffee shop we were meeting at was a place we thought was open until 10pm, but it turns out the close at nine on Sundays. Couple that with the fact that I was having supper at my in-laws and didn’t get there until 8:30 (it’s a bit of a drive for me), and you have one awfully short hangout. Plans are, however, in the works to try again, and I’ll make sure that next time I give myself plenty of time so I don’t end up driving forty-five minutes to sit somewhere for fifteen to twenty.

I had a piece of flash fiction (an extremely short piece – under a thousand words, often under five hundred) which I wanted to write this past week but never managed to get the right brain cells to bang themselves together, what with sickness and crazy-work. This week should be better, and I drop off of pager duty, which means I’ll be better able to plan my evening/night schedule around my writing time. I’m going to need it because I have a lot of catching up to do.

For whatever reason, tonight I’ve developed a serious kink in the neck, down the right side of the spine. I can turn my head one way just fine, but the other way hurts like hell. This is hindering me, because I’m very much a type-and-pause sort of writer, so I’ll write for a bit, then stop to gather my thoughts before continuing, and I’ll almost always look away from my screen. I’m also having a bout of stupidity, because every time I pause to look around, I look the wrong way so I get a lovely knife-pain in the neck, and then I forget what I was going to write about.

Sigh, I’m getting old. Maybe another early night 😦

One response to “Flash

Leave a Reply

