Momentum

For whatever reason, the coughing and sniffling have partly subsided, but now I have a headache. It’s probably mostly tiredness – despite the nine-hour sleep last night I find myself fading already.

Still, I managed to get a little bit of writing done tonight, and plan to keep going for a bit before turning in. It’s nowhere near daily quota, and even further from a number that would help me catch up and make up for the past few days, but at least it’s writing.

I’m finding it very hard to get back into writing, however. I always knew that momentum was a powerful force, but this challenge to pump out one million words in a year has pretty much cemented the notion for me. I’ve been writing at a pace much higher than my average for over a month now, and it’s hard to believe what a few days of not writing can do to that momentum. Picking up from where I left off in the morning, or even a day earlier, wasn’t too difficult before this week, but picking up where I left off five days ago might as well be starting something new, even though I got cut off mid-scene. Today I’m willing to chalk it up partly to continued exhaustion and recovery, and I’ll be less gentle about kicking my own ass into gear tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

