The First Battle of 2012

I was outnumbered two to one, but I thought for sure that I had experience and size on my side. I fired salvo after salvo, and even repurposed a garbage can lid as a shield but the little nippers got me in the end and I was forced to surrender.

Yes, my kids kicked my ass in a snowball fight. Or rather, I kicked my own ass in a snowball fight. It turns out that being a big, slow target is not the most useful of attributes in winter warfare.

It all served to remind me about that first resolution I made at the beginning of the year, about losing weight. I’ve been focused fairly well on the other ones, but I haven’t made a lot of the adjustments needed to tackle my size this year. Today definitely reminded me of why I need to shed some pounds.

I’m not the spring chicken I used to be, but I’m not that old. I shouldn’t be getting winded from throwing a few snowballs and a quick jog around the house to avoid getting snowed by my kids. And yet that’s exactly what happened. I was out of breath in the most pitiful of ways. It was pretty pathetic.

So this week I start seriously paying attention to the food I eat. Usually when I gain a lot of weight it’s because I snack constantly, so making myself conscious of that and keeping fruits around instead of chips and cookies helps. Generally my strategy is to keep my lunches really light and snack on appropriate things throughout the say. Remembering to take the stairs instead of an elevator or escalator helps as well. It’s a pain in the ass to keep up, but it’s my own fault for ignoring it so long and letting it get bad in the first place, so I have nobody to blame but myself.

Leave a Reply

