Tintin

The whole family went to see Tintin tonight. The kids had a great time, and I enjoyed it as well. There were a lot of scenes where science was completely thrown out the window in an effort to tell a better and more entertaining story, and I was perfectly happy to go along with it.

I read piles of the original books when I was younger, and I expected some sort of nostalgia factor, but it wasn’t there at all. Honestly, it’s been so long since I even looked at a Tintin book that I have no idea anymore whether the movie comes close to the tone of the originals. Though now my kids want to read the books, so that’s a plus.

I do remember choosing to read Tintin because he went places and did things that I didn’t get to see very much of in a lot of the other stuff that was available to me when I was younger. The exotic locales were definitely a part of the draw for me (I’d have to research it, but I don’t recall the Hardy Boys ranging very far from home). They alluded to a lot of the destinations from the books in the opening sequence, but I’m glad they didn’t have the characters randomly hopping from place to place in an effort to jam the movie full of nostalgic scenery. They did what they needed to do, where they needed to do it, and that was that.

One thing that was painfully obvious though was the lack of anything that wasn’t a white dude. There was one female character (a tertiary one) who shows up long enough for us to know that she’s a pompous bitch and she can sing (a grand total of about a minute), and then she’s gone. Seriously, there are more animals with interesting personalities in this movie than there are human females. Given the grief the books have received over the years over politically incorrect content, this is one area you’d think they might have invested a little bit of effort into.

I will say this for the movie: As someone who dislikes 3D, and finds that it gets in the way of my seeing what I want to see in a film, I didn’t notice the 3D at all in this one. You could tell that the characters and scenery had depth, but there was nothing specifically designed to poke you in the eyes. What I hate most about that all too common technique is how it reminds you in an instant that you are, in fact, watching a 3D movie. You aren’t following along with the story anymore, you aren’t there with the characters, you’re in a seat in a theater and it takes time to get back into the flow. And as a perfect illustration of my point, if I have to see another fucking preview of Journey 2 The Mysterious Island where The Rock bounces a berry off his pulsating pecs toward the screen (this makes the third time), I’m going to completely lose it. Seriously, see for yourself:

Forgetting both Tintin and Dwayne Johnson’s chest for a moment, and getting back to the writing front, clearly I was still recovering from the work panic earlier in the week and the associated lack of sleep, since I fell asleep last night in the middle of a sentence I was writing. I’ll be the first to admit that sometimes I write boring stuff, but not that boring, so it was another early night. At this point I have no hope of hitting my target for the month, but I can give it a bit of an effort to at least break 55,000, maybe 60,000, and then try to keep up a good stride throughout February. Make par, catch up by a few thousand, save face, all that good stuff.

2012 Resolution Progress:
43819/1,000,000 words written (4.39%)
26/27 days blogged (Target: 365/366 with 1 day anti-SOPA blackout)
12/13 Days cafeteria avoidance (No real target)

Leave a Reply

