Sleeplessness, and Ice

As expected, last night I crashed at around nine, which is about four hours earlier than my normal lights out time. Good thing, too, because I got another three am call for another problem, and spent long enough on it that there was no point in trying to get back to sleep. Word count for yesterday was somewhere around 200, which doesn’t help my total for the month at all.

Tonight, I’m still feeling the effects of two rough nights of work. I’m going to get as much done as I can but something in the back of my brain keeps telling me I’d be better off giving up for the day and going to play Skyrim. I have successfully killed the voice, but I think it’s going to be another early night. With any luck I’ll have a good weekend, during which I can hopefully do some catching up and not fall even more ridiculously short of my target for the month.

In other news, I spent about an hour with a sledgehammer and a shovel trying to turn my driveway from ice rink to… well, anything else would do, really. Seriously, the ice is three to four inches thick in some places, and the rain we got a few days ago gave it a beautiful, but deadly, sheen. I managed to clear about a car-sized patch, but my driveway fits ten to twelve cars, so… I have a long way to go yet. It’s colder than I thought it was out there. My ankles haven’t completely thawed out yet but I have to go out there again to take out the trash.

Meanwhile, if you’re looking for something interesting to do in blog-land besides read my drivel day after day, my good friend Pat is interviewing writers over on her little part of the web. She’s interviewing everyone from no-names to just-published to award-winning writers, and if you like books you just might find something fresh and interesting to go hunting for after hearing what these writers have to say for themselves.

Leave a Reply

