So I did manage to beat the four thousand words that I wanted to hit yesterday, and I finished the day with a total just above 4,500. I could have done more but I held back in favour of doing something I haven’t made very much time for at all in the last few months – reading.

I’ve been working my way through the huge pile of graphic novels I picked up in the fall, but aside from that I’ve been reading the same two books for months. It’s not that they aren’t good books, it’s just that I’ve been preoccupied with other things and going to bed very late. Since my habit was always to read in bed before going to sleep, going to bed really late often means my wife is asleep and will kill me if I turn on the light to read.

So last night, knowing that I was killing the word count, I took some time to catch up and do some reading before I completely forget what’s happened in these books. Today’s count is necessarily going to be lower, being a work day, but I’m going to try to make some time for reading a few pages while I’m at it. Part of me thinks I should have made reading a part of my resolutions for the year, and part of me knows that I wouldn’t be able to keep up both a heavy writing pace and a heavy load of reading as well. Rather, I could, but that would leave me absolutely no time for anything else, and that would make me crazy.

Leave a Reply

