Short Story Done, and Site Blackout

I finished the second draft of a short story yesterday, and sent it off to a friend for critique. I’ve often looked at my stories and disliked them. I take it as a sign of my growth as a writer that now, when I look at a story and dislike it, I very often know exactly what’s wrong with it. Sometimes I know how to fix it, sometimes I don’t have a clue, and sometimes I know that it isn’t fixable, but it’s still insight. This story? I think it fails on a couple of fronts. I think it’s biggest issue is length but I don’t know that lengthening it will make it good, so it may end up in the trunk.

In other news, it seems that I will fail at posting to this blog every day this year, but I do so willingly and for a good cause. Tomorrow, this page will be going dark, along with many other pages, in protest against SOPA and PIPA, the bills currently being evaluated in the USA which stand to cripple the internet as we know it. It may not seem like much, given the generally low traffic to this site, but the Internet has had so much of an impact on my life that I can’t even quantify it, and I wanted to be a pat of the bigger protest in some way. The friends I’ve made, the research I’ve done for my writing, even my day-job career choice… I owe so much of it to the Internet that I honestly could not exist as I am today without it. Cory Doctorow at Boing Boing takes a more global view of the impacts here. Michael Geist has a post on why SOPA and PIPA, while being American bills,  matter to people outside that county.

I’d been thinking about this for a couple of days, but I was pleased tonight to see that WordPress had made it easy to participate with the touch of a button, so I’ll see you all on Thursday.

3 responses to “Short Story Done, and Site Blackout

Leave a Reply

