Happy New Year!

I rang in the New Year as I have for the last ten or so, with a house full of friends and family. It was fun but exhausting. My wife was called away to work all day yesterday so I was left with all the cleaning and food preparation, and she’s at work again today so I’m left with the clean up, though I’m letting the dishwasher do most of the work.

I don’t often make resolutions, but I figured I’d give myself a bit of a kick in the ass this year, so here’s the rundown.

1.) Lose weight: This one is on a lot of people’s lists, but my weight has really gone up over the past two years and I’m at the point where it just doesn’t feel good to be me. I get tired, sore and out of breath and I’m tired of it. My goal is to lose 50 pounds by my birthday (July 22), and to keep those pounds off for the rest of the year.

2.) Cafeteria Independence: The cafeteria in the building where I work used to be amazing. It was almost impossible to go there and not find something that looked really tasty. The quality has gone so far down it’s ridiculous. Now the choice is less about which one of several options you like best, but to mark off options because they all look horrible, so you’re taking the lesser of three or four evils. Recycled soup, leftover sandwich specials finding their way to the panini section three or four days later. Horrible. It looks like they made an effort to reduce cost by reducing quality, but they’re the running gag of the building. So, I will bring my lunch in as much as possible, and will make the greatest effort to bring my own coffee in the morning so they won’t get my money off that either. Controlling what I have for lunch will help with the weight loss as well.

3.) 365 Blog Posts: Well, okay, 366 since it’s a leap year. Basically I want to use this blog every day. Quick hits, long rants, and everything in between, but I want to make sure that I get and stay in the habit of making this my go-to place to speak my mind. So expect much more of my drivel over the coming year, a minimum of one post per day.

4.) One Million Words: I’ve heard it said that you have to write one million words of crap before you start to write well. I want to get those million words out of the way this year. This will be sort of an expanded and extended NaNoWriMo. I’m going to count this blog, short stories, novels, and anything else that falls into the loose definition of creatively putting one word after another. The only thing I don’t know how I’ll handle is edits and revisions. I’ll figure something out, but suggestions are welcome.

And that’s about it. The only one that really worries me is the writing. One million words is a lot. Keeping up that pace for a year is going to hurt, but it will be a good hurt.

For the rest of you out there, may 2012 be what you want it to be.

2 responses to “Happy New Year!

  • Mady

    All laudable goals, my friend. Keep it up!

  • Evolve Two Review, and F#*&ing Typos « Michael Lorenson

    […] 2012 Resolution Progress: 6121/1,000,000 words written (0.61%) 5/5 days blogged (Target: 366/366) 2/2 Days cafeteria avoidance (No real target) Share this:FacebookTwitterRedditDiggEmailLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. This entry was posted on Thursday, January 5th, 2012 at 9:03 pm and tagged with editing, Evolve Two, NaNoWriMo, Word-cockroaches, Writing and posted in Uncategorized. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. « Now With 37% More Bleh […]

Leave a Reply

