Picking up Steam

As I’ve mentioned before, this month is Script Frenzy, where the goal is to write a 100-page script in one month. Any script will do (movie, television, play…) and I went with a graphic novel because I had an idea I thought would translate really well to the comic format.

I had a late start because I decided to join Script Frenzy very late in March and I knew that I wasn’t going to get anywhere without a solid outline. Then I had the hacking crud for two weeks and that slowed me down, all while I was working on other things as well. The last few days have been much better and I’ve been picking up the pace. I’ll finish tonight with over 40 pages done in total, knowing I can hit a relatively easy pace of 7 pages a day and come in well under deadline at the end of the month.

So how does the script look so far? Freakishly rough. As far as comic scripts go, it’s about as rough as it gets, but I absolutely love the shape of the story underneath the words. It’s one of the stories I’m most proud of, which I think works extremely well from a plotting and characterization point of view, and if I can work on the skills necessary to shape this on a page-by-page and panel-by-panel basis, I think it could be very good. I’ve had success with small-scale plotting in the past but have has problems translating that to novel length, so it’s nice to see the story within something this big coming together so nicely.

Leave a Reply

