The Best Laid Plans

I woke up this morning at my usual time, got the kids ready and off for school, and got some writing done. At lunch, I stayed behind while everyone went out to a restaurant because I’d brought my own, and we already went out once this week – money isn’t infinite. I managed to get some writing done on my lunch break.

Tonight I was planning on getting a few hours of writing done before my wife and I went to see The Hunger Games, because she’s a fan of the books. Instead, I got paged for a trouble while in the car on my way home from work (around 5:20), and worked until about 10:30, then got paged again for something minor about twenty minutes later. Needless to say, not a creative word was written, and it didn’t do much for the 10:30pm showtime of the Hunger Games either. Luckily, since my mother-in-law had already volunteered to babysit, she was able to use my movie ticket while I stayed here, but I would much rather have gone to the movies than work all evening.

Especially considering I’ll be out all evening Saturday at a friend’s for his birthday barbecue, and Sunday night my friends will be here for the next session of our D&D game, it’s not going to leave me a lot of time this weekend to catch up on my word count. Sure, I could spend all day both days with my face glued to my screen, but I’d rather hang out with my kids, doing whatever it is that they want to do.

I have a feeling that, despite my to-do list and my good intentions, March will turn out to be a bit of a wash. That just means I’ll have to break out the steel-toed boots and kick April’s ass even harder.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

