10,000

Today I crossed the threshold of ten thousand words for the year, and it’s taken me eight days to get there, though I’m not done writing for the night.

That’s an average of 1250 words per day, which is slightly below half of where I need to be if I’m going to hit my one million words for the year. Again, I’m not sure why I set the bar so high, given how much difficulty I traditionally have just making my fifty thousand words during November for NaNoWriMo, but there it is. What would be nice would be to actually catch up over the next week so that I’m not behind my word count for the entirety of 2012. It would be very nice to be able to say that I was actually on par at some point, even if it’s at the complete beginning.

I have a week off work, which should help, but it still won’t be easy. I’m definitely going to have to buckle down and be diligent about not only finding time to do some writing, but I’ll also have to be very good about how I use my time. I tend to be a very distracted writer. I’ll write a couple of hundred words, then go off to do something else. It’s how I tend to do most of my tasks, breaking them down into manageable chunks and interleaving several of them together, so that I’m doing bits and pieces of several things and by the time I’m done (hopefully) everything is finished that I wanted to finish.

Usually I try to do non-writing things as palate cleansers for writing activities, but I’m going to need to find a way of getting more writing done while I’m in front of my computer. Games aren’t a big issue, since the only thing I’ve really been playing a lot of recently is Skyrim, and that’s on the PS3 so more is involved in getting that game started than say, virtual farming or some such thing, but I’m very susceptible to spending an hour on the Internet when I only intended to go for five or ten minutes to check email or see what’s popped into my RSS feed.

4 responses to “10,000

  • Novel Girl

    Wow. Now THAT’s a writing goal! One million words sound impossibly huge but if you breakdown your goal into manageable chunks, then you won’t have to worry. A few hundred words at a time is a great effort. Then you aren’t spent and can keep going on later, and later …

    Keep up the writing!

    • mlorenson

      Yeah, it does sound impossibly huge but it works out to less than 3,000 words a day. That still sounds like a lot but it’s manageable in bites. Thanks for the encouragement!

  • Tobin Elliott

    I’m a big believer in this: Buy yourself a timer (you can usually get a decent digital one at the dollar store) and set it for a decent amount of time. Maybe a half hour or hour. Then promise yourself you can do nothing during that time but write. When you’re done, go do some non-writing things guilt free for a little while, then reset that timer again. Hopefully that plays a little to your “distracted writer” syndrome (which is my problem as well, by the way).

    1M words. Good luck, man! If this was Pat, she’d have that done by this Thursday…the rest of us mortals have to set goals (and timers).

  • Pat

    This *is* Pat, and I’m actually kind of annoyed by Mike’s 1,000,000 word goal. My stupid brain has been trying to see if 1,000,000 in a year is actually achievable, so it’s been working toward it, whether I have better things to do or not. I’m 2k shy of a NaNo already, if you count blogging and journals as well – and I took yesterday off. Darn that guy.

    Mike, you need a writing night. Pick the time and place.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

